OpenAI
AI research organization introduced publicly in December 2015.
Wikipedia-confirmed identity. Matched to Wikidata Q21708200 ↗ with a Wikipedia article ↗. Checked 2026-10-02.
Crunchbase-confirmed identity. Public Crunchbase evidence ↗ matched to this record’s source context. Checked 2026-10-02.
Identity maintained in Devreal’s canonical record for OpenAI ↗.
AI research organization introduced publicly in December 2015.
Funding events
Financing records can exist before investors are identified. Source reports retain their date basis, amount scope, and review status.
OpenAI ↗
OpenAI · Financing · 2026
- Announcement date
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Closing status
- Closed
- Round total
- USD 122,000,000,000
- Post-money valuation
- USD 852,000,000,000
Source context: The $122 billion is the closed round’s committed capital, not a claim that all cash was paid on the announcement date. It supersedes the initial $110 billion announced in February, within the same financing event. SoftBank’s October 1 update confirms the $30 billion contribution completed through Vision Fund 2, including a final $10 billion tranche; its $64.6 billion cumulative history must not be added to the round or contribution. The $122 billion is the closed round’s committed capital, not a claim that all cash was paid on the announcement date. It supersedes the initial $110 billion announced in February, within the same financing event. The $122 billion is the closed round’s committed capital, not a claim that all cash was paid on the announcement date. It supersedes the initial $110 billion announced in February, within the same financing event. The investor-specific figure is the announced commitment from February 27; no payment completion is inferred.
The round total covers all investors; it is not an individual investor’s contribution.
Event reference:
funding:openai:financing-2026- OpenAI closes its $122 billion financing ↗OpenAI · 2026-03-31
- SoftBank completes its $30 billion OpenAI follow-on investment ↗SoftBank Group · 2026-10-01
- OpenAI announces initial investors in its 2026 financing ↗OpenAI · 2026-02-27
OpenAI ↗
OpenAI · Financing · 2019
- Announcement date
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Closing status
- Announced
Source context: Microsoft announces a $1 billion investment. No financing stage or valuation is disclosed in this announcement.
No amount recorded in this event’s evidence.
Event reference:
funding:openai:microsoft-2019
Organizations and connections
Affiliations retain their dates and sources. Roles may be historical; a missing end date does not establish a current role. Machine classifications need review; a co-mention alone does not establish a relationship.
Named founding team member
Joined technical staff and led the interpretability team
Vice president of research before Anthropic
InstructGPT coauthor affiliated with OpenAI
- Training language models to follow instructions with human feedback (March 2022) ↗Long Ouyang and coauthors / arXiv
Former researcher, described in Almeida’s launch essay; dates unspecified
- Introducing System One Models and Jev (September 15, 2026) ↗Diogo Almeida / TypeSafe AI
Named founding team member
Founding co-chair
Participated in the financing
- Investor role
- Participating investor
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Announced
- Closing status
- Closed
- Round total
- USD 122,000,000,000
- Commitment
- USD 50,000,000,000
- Post-money valuation
- USD 852,000,000,000
Source context: The $122 billion is the closed round’s committed capital, not a claim that all cash was paid on the announcement date. It supersedes the initial $110 billion announced in February, within the same financing event. The investor-specific figure is the announced commitment from February 27; no payment completion is inferred.
The round total covers all investors. Individual contributions are recorded separately when disclosed.
A commitment records the announced amount; it does not establish that the full amount has been funded.
Event reference:
funding:openai:financing-2026- OpenAI closes its $122 billion financing ↗OpenAI · 2026-03-31
- OpenAI announces initial investors in its 2026 financing ↗OpenAI · 2026-02-27
Co-led the financing
- Investor role
- Co-lead investor
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Announced
- Closing status
- Closed
- Round total
- USD 122,000,000,000
- Post-money valuation
- USD 852,000,000,000
Source context: The $122 billion is the closed round’s committed capital, not a claim that all cash was paid on the announcement date. It supersedes the initial $110 billion announced in February, within the same financing event.
The round total covers all investors. Individual contributions are recorded separately when disclosed.
Event reference:
funding:openai:financing-2026- OpenAI closes its $122 billion financing ↗OpenAI · 2026-03-31
Participated in the financing
- Investor role
- Participating investor
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Announced
- Closing status
- Closed
- Round total
- USD 122,000,000,000
- Post-money valuation
- USD 852,000,000,000
Source context: The $122 billion is the closed round’s committed capital, not a claim that all cash was paid on the announcement date. It supersedes the initial $110 billion announced in February, within the same financing event.
The round total covers all investors. Individual contributions are recorded separately when disclosed.
Event reference:
funding:openai:financing-2026- OpenAI closes its $122 billion financing ↗OpenAI · 2026-03-31
Participated in the financing
- Investor role
- Participating investor
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Announced
- Closing status
- Closed
- Round total
- USD 122,000,000,000
- Commitment
- USD 30,000,000,000
- Post-money valuation
- USD 852,000,000,000
Source context: The $122 billion is the closed round’s committed capital, not a claim that all cash was paid on the announcement date. It supersedes the initial $110 billion announced in February, within the same financing event. The investor-specific figure is the announced commitment from February 27; no payment completion is inferred.
The round total covers all investors. Individual contributions are recorded separately when disclosed.
A commitment records the announced amount; it does not establish that the full amount has been funded.
Event reference:
funding:openai:financing-2026- OpenAI closes its $122 billion financing ↗OpenAI · 2026-03-31
- OpenAI announces initial investors in its 2026 financing ↗OpenAI · 2026-02-27
Co-led the financing
- Investor role
- Co-lead investor
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Announced
- Closing status
- Closed
- Round total
- USD 122,000,000,000
- Post-money valuation
- USD 852,000,000,000
Source context: The $122 billion is the closed round’s committed capital, not a claim that all cash was paid on the announcement date. It supersedes the initial $110 billion announced in February, within the same financing event.
The round total covers all investors. Individual contributions are recorded separately when disclosed.
Event reference:
funding:openai:financing-2026- OpenAI closes its $122 billion financing ↗OpenAI · 2026-03-31
Participated in the financing
- Investor role
- Participating investor
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Announced
- Closing status
- Closed
- Round total
- USD 122,000,000,000
- Post-money valuation
- USD 852,000,000,000
Source context: The $122 billion is the closed round’s committed capital, not a claim that all cash was paid on the announcement date. It supersedes the initial $110 billion announced in February, within the same financing event.
The round total covers all investors. Individual contributions are recorded separately when disclosed.
Event reference:
funding:openai:financing-2026- OpenAI closes its $122 billion financing ↗OpenAI · 2026-03-31
Participated in the financing
- Investor role
- Participating investor
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Announced
- Closing status
- Closed
- Round total
- USD 122,000,000,000
- Post-money valuation
- USD 852,000,000,000
Source context: The $122 billion is the closed round’s committed capital, not a claim that all cash was paid on the announcement date. It supersedes the initial $110 billion announced in February, within the same financing event.
The round total covers all investors. Individual contributions are recorded separately when disclosed.
Event reference:
funding:openai:financing-2026- OpenAI closes its $122 billion financing ↗OpenAI · 2026-03-31
Co-led the financing
- Investor role
- Co-lead investor
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Announced
- Closing status
- Closed
- Round total
- USD 122,000,000,000
- Post-money valuation
- USD 852,000,000,000
Source context: The $122 billion is the closed round’s committed capital, not a claim that all cash was paid on the announcement date. It supersedes the initial $110 billion announced in February, within the same financing event.
The round total covers all investors. Individual contributions are recorded separately when disclosed.
Event reference:
funding:openai:financing-2026- OpenAI closes its $122 billion financing ↗OpenAI · 2026-03-31
Co-led the financing
- Investor role
- Co-lead investor
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Announced
- Closing status
- Closed
- Round total
- USD 122,000,000,000
- Investor contribution
- USD 30,000,000,000
- Cumulative investment
- USD 64,600,000,000
- Post-money valuation
- USD 852,000,000,000
Source context: The $122 billion is the closed round’s committed capital, not a claim that all cash was paid on the announcement date. It supersedes the initial $110 billion announced in February, within the same financing event. SoftBank’s October 1 update confirms the $30 billion contribution completed through Vision Fund 2, including a final $10 billion tranche; its $64.6 billion cumulative history must not be added to the round or contribution.
The round total covers all investors. Individual contributions are recorded separately when disclosed.
Cumulative investment covers multiple investments over time.
Event reference:
funding:openai:financing-2026- OpenAI closes its $122 billion financing ↗OpenAI · 2026-03-31
- SoftBank completes its $30 billion OpenAI follow-on investment ↗SoftBank Group · 2026-10-01
Co-led the financing
- Investor role
- Co-lead investor
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Announced
- Closing status
- Closed
- Round total
- USD 122,000,000,000
- Post-money valuation
- USD 852,000,000,000
Source context: The $122 billion is the closed round’s committed capital, not a claim that all cash was paid on the announcement date. It supersedes the initial $110 billion announced in February, within the same financing event.
The round total covers all investors. Individual contributions are recorded separately when disclosed.
Event reference:
funding:openai:financing-2026- OpenAI closes its $122 billion financing ↗OpenAI · 2026-03-31
Founding chief technology officer
Founding research director
Policy director before Anthropic
Collaborated on scaling-law research
- Jared Kaplan faculty biography and AI collaborations ↗Johns Hopkins University
- Scaling Laws for Neural Language Models (January 2020) ↗Jared Kaplan and coauthors / arXiv
Named launch supporter; part of a collective funding commitment
Named founding team member
Announced a $1 billion investment and computing partnership
- Investor role
- Investor role not specified
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Announced
- Closing status
- Announced
- Investor contribution
- USD 1,000,000,000
Source context: Microsoft announces a $1 billion investment. No financing stage or valuation is disclosed in this announcement.
Event reference:
funding:openai:microsoft-2019Named founding team member
Named launch supporter; part of a collective funding commitment
Named launch supporter; part of a collective funding commitment
Founding co-chair
Listed research affiliation on the GPT-3 paper
- Language Models are Few-Shot Learners: GPT-3 authors (May 2020) ↗Tom Brown and coauthors / arXiv
Listed research affiliation on the GPT-3 paper
- Language Models are Few-Shot Learners: GPT-3 authors (May 2020) ↗Tom Brown and coauthors / arXiv
Named founding team member
Named founding team member
Founded
- Wikidata: OpenAI ↗Wikidata · P112 · Statement Q21708200$eb65c1a1-40d6-8351-8d3f-1edc28e360f41 reference record retained in the source statement
- Wikidata: OpenAI ↗Wikidata
Founded
- Wikidata: OpenAI ↗Wikidata · P112 · Statement Q21708200$83f89f1b-40f0-d449-3588-295063d8b36aNo external reference recorded in this Wikidata statement
- Wikidata: OpenAI ↗Wikidata
Founded
- Wikidata: OpenAI ↗Wikidata · P112 · Statement Q21708200$0b125687-4ebe-a9f8-e421-440e2190b109No external reference recorded in this Wikidata statement
- Wikidata: OpenAI ↗Wikidata
Founded
- Wikidata: OpenAI ↗Wikidata · P112 · Statement Q21708200$b12aa35e-4172-2320-de1d-681f746df17b1 reference record retained in the source statement
- Wikidata: OpenAI ↗Wikidata
Chief executive of
- Wikidata: OpenAI ↗Wikidata · P169 · Statement Q21708200$66df9b64-4c4d-0812-3fb9-444ad635f2de1 reference record retained in the source statement
- Wikidata: OpenAI ↗Wikidata
Works or worked for
- Wikidata: Leopold Aschenbrenner ↗Wikidata · P108 · Statement Q131735900$61690971-41c3-6c5f-5944-6c1b684810ddNo external reference recorded in this Wikidata statement
- Wikidata: Leopold Aschenbrenner ↗Wikidata
Works or worked for
- Wikidata: John Schulman ↗Wikidata · P108 · Statement Q103236782$2aae32d9-4cea-79b2-e811-fd562c3766861 reference record retained in the source statement
- Wikidata: John Schulman ↗Wikidata
Works or worked for
- Wikidata: Chris Olah ↗Wikidata · P108 · Statement Q50358648$eaa74119-4b7f-5247-5a5b-a589597ee462No external reference recorded in this Wikidata statement
- Wikidata: Chris Olah ↗Wikidata
Founded
- Wikidata: OpenAI ↗Wikidata · P112 · Statement Q21708200$5e974ef8-4a06-208b-7ce4-4f54cb9641d2No external reference recorded in this Wikidata statement
- Wikidata: OpenAI ↗Wikidata
Works or worked for
- Wikidata: Greg Brockman ↗Wikidata · P108 · Statement Q100604534$87613b90-486e-aa45-51b2-29deb8c32dea2 reference records retained in the source statement
- Wikidata: Greg Brockman ↗Wikidata
Works or worked for
- Wikidata: Ilya Sutskever ↗Wikidata · P108 · Statement Q21712134$afad0f68-43f0-7663-01e0-2ed28ac02b612 reference records retained in the source statement
- Wikidata: Ilya Sutskever ↗Wikidata
Chief executive of
- Wikidata: OpenAI ↗Wikidata · P169 · Statement Q21708200$84b70518-45c3-9c74-b7f6-a60f30b438be1 reference record retained in the source statement
- Wikidata: OpenAI ↗Wikidata
Works or worked for
- Wikidata: Dean W. Ball ↗Wikidata · P108 · Statement Q141194934$c1102288-49b6-3064-1362-59be615b8bf31 reference record retained in the source statement
- Wikidata: Dean W. Ball ↗Wikidata
Works or worked for
- Wikidata: Fred von Lohmann ↗Wikidata · P108 · Statement Q614217$7885da4c-462f-30fb-94ae-7079f65adecb1 reference record retained in the source statement
- Wikidata: Fred von Lohmann ↗Wikidata
Works or worked for
- Wikidata: Chris Lehane ↗Wikidata · P108 · Statement Q5107216$5d600565-42a9-a61b-4bbe-779a93b7d9ac1 reference record retained in the source statement
- Wikidata: Chris Lehane ↗Wikidata
Works or worked for
- Wikidata: Fidji Simo ↗Wikidata · P108 · Statement Q64853019$5efd3d05-43cd-1b7c-bc37-fae809c0d89eNo external reference recorded in this Wikidata statement
- Wikidata: Fidji Simo ↗Wikidata
Works or worked for
- Wikidata: Mira Murati ↗Wikidata · P108 · Statement Q116706551$d71e6e59-460b-7fc8-5fd8-b29bc2cf60cf1 reference record retained in the source statement
- Wikidata: Mira Murati ↗Wikidata
Works or worked for
- Wikidata: Andrej Karpathy ↗Wikidata · P108 · Statement Q56037405$67f0a43d-492a-7fa1-aae2-1e81a621287cNo external reference recorded in this Wikidata statement
- Wikidata: Andrej Karpathy ↗Wikidata