Sequoia Capital
Venture firm founded by a Fairchild and National Semiconductor alumnus.
Wikipedia-confirmed identity. Matched to Wikidata Q1852025 ↗ with a Wikipedia article ↗. Checked 2026-10-02.
Venture firm founded by a Fairchild and National Semiconductor alumnus.
Funding events
Financing records can exist before investors are identified. Source reports retain their date basis, amount scope, and review status.
Organizations and connections
Affiliations retain their dates and sources. Roles may be historical; a missing end date does not establish a current role. Machine classifications need review; a co-mention alone does not establish a relationship.
Co-founded
- Fairchildren: the semiconductor, computer and Internet diaspora ↗Computer History Museum
Participated in Series G
- Stage
- Series G
- Investor role
- Participating investor
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Announced
- Closing status
- Announced
- Round total
- USD 30,000,000,000
- Post-money valuation
- USD 380,000,000,000
Source context: The round total is shared across investor records, not the contribution of each firm. The announcement explicitly names this investor; its individual check size is undisclosed.
The round total covers all investors. Individual contributions are recorded separately when disclosed.
Event reference:
funding:anthropic:series-g-2026- Anthropic announces its $30 billion Series G ↗Anthropic · 2026-02-12
Co-led Series H
- Stage
- Series H
- Investor role
- Co-lead investor
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Announced
- Closing status
- Announced
- Round total
- USD 65,000,000,000
- Post-money valuation
- USD 965,000,000,000
Source context: Round total is counted once by eventId, not once per investor. The announcement explicitly names this investor. No personal lead is inferred from a quoted partner.
The round total covers all investors. Individual contributions are recorded separately when disclosed.
Event reference:
funding:anthropic:series-h-2026- Anthropic announces its $65 billion Series H ↗Anthropic · 2026-05-28
Participated in the financing
- Investor role
- Participating investor
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Announced
- Closing status
- Closed
- Round total
- USD 122,000,000,000
- Post-money valuation
- USD 852,000,000,000
Source context: The $122 billion is the closed round’s committed capital, not a claim that all cash was paid on the announcement date. It supersedes the initial $110 billion announced in February, within the same financing event.
The round total covers all investors. Individual contributions are recorded separately when disclosed.
Event reference:
funding:openai:financing-2026- OpenAI closes its $122 billion financing ↗OpenAI · 2026-03-31
Joined
- Seven questions with Roelof Botha ↗Sequoia Capital
Backed the 2009 seed financing
- Stage
- Seed
- Investor role
- Investor role not specified
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Closing status
- Closed
Source context: Sequoia’s first-person transcript says the seed financing closed in 2009. It does not explicitly designate a lead investor; the earlier lead label is narrowed.
No amount recorded in this relationship’s evidence.
Event reference:
funding:airbnb:seed-2009- Airbnb: founding and financing history ↗Sequoia Capital
First partnership
- Investor role
- Investor role not specified
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Closing status
- Not specified
Source context: The portfolio page dates the first partnership; it does not identify a financing stage, amount, exact announcement date, or syndicate lead.
No amount recorded in this relationship’s evidence.
Event reference:
funding:dropbox:sequoia-first-partnership-2007- Dropbox investment history ↗Sequoia Capital
First partnership
- Investor role
- Investor role not specified
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Closing status
- Not specified
Source context: The portfolio page dates the first partnership; it does not identify a financing stage, amount, exact announcement date, or syndicate lead.
No amount recorded in this relationship’s evidence.
Event reference:
funding:instagram:sequoia-first-partnership-2012- Instagram investment history ↗Sequoia Capital
First partnership
- Investor role
- Investor role not specified
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Closing status
- Not specified
Source context: The portfolio page dates the first partnership; it does not identify a financing stage, amount, exact announcement date, or syndicate lead.
No amount recorded in this relationship’s evidence.
Event reference:
funding:stripe:sequoia-first-partnership-2010- Stripe investment history ↗Sequoia Capital
First partnership
- Investor role
- Investor role not specified
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Closing status
- Not specified
Source context: The portfolio page dates the first partnership; it does not identify a financing stage, amount, exact announcement date, or syndicate lead.
No amount recorded in this relationship’s evidence.
Event reference:
funding:whatsapp:sequoia-first-partnership-2011- WhatsApp investment history ↗Sequoia Capital
First investment
- Investor role
- Investor role not specified
- Financing
- Type not specified
- Closing status
- Not specified
Source context: The portfolio page dates the first partnership; it does not identify a financing stage, amount, exact announcement date, or syndicate lead.
No amount recorded in this relationship’s evidence.
Event reference:
funding:youtube:sequoia-first-partnership-2005- YouTube investment history ↗Sequoia Capital
Works or worked for
- Wikidata: Shaun Maguire ↗Wikidata · P108 · Statement Q59667927$a435968a-43f1-aea7-707c-cae42a064bb72 reference records retained in the source statement
- Wikidata: Shaun Maguire ↗Wikidata
Works or worked for
- Wikidata: Michael Moritz ↗Wikidata · P108 · Statement Q3124567$71356f3e-4019-bc16-b418-5be900e89a611 reference record retained in the source statement
- Wikidata: Michael Moritz ↗Wikidata
Founded
- Wikidata: Sequoia Capital ↗Wikidata · P112 · Statement q1852025$DB0E07D2-D7CE-421F-B994-C2DC4E56BF261 reference record retained in the source statement
- Wikidata: Sequoia Capital ↗Wikidata
Works or worked for
- Wikidata: Douglas Leone ↗Wikidata · P108 · Statement Q5301728$D078CFB0-0D26-40EF-8E2A-FB019D2303271 reference record retained in the source statement
- Wikidata: Douglas Leone ↗Wikidata